Something New

First off, welcome.  Somehow you ended up here to find the fresh beginnings of a potentially interesting blog.  Why am I starting this?  Well, I’m a Systems Administrator in the SMB space.  An army of one if you will.  Generally, in a small to medium sized company, there is typically only one IT person.  This presents some pretty interesting opportunities and challenges.  I am the help desk, printer tech, server admin, network engineer, and anything else that has to do with the technology in the office.  Because of this, I have a breadth of knowledge that I can share.

I don’t claim to be an “expert” in anything and if this is what you are looking for, then I apologize now.  My goal here is to simply share some tips, tricks, and possibly some insight into the things that I have found to work well in an SMB environment.  From networking, virtualization, AD and GPO design, all the way to what hardware seems to work well for me.  Little tidbits of things that I have picked up over the years or cool things that I have come across and learned to make things easier.  Really, that is what it is all about.  Learning new things to make your job easier.

Things will start out fairly slow, so please try to be patient.  I’m not entirely sure where I want to go with this or how well it will do.  Here’s to things to come and thank you for visiting.

Something New

Leave a Reply

